The HUST team has won the Best Linpack award and set a world new record with 8.455TFLOPS in ISC 13.( LINK)


The team from Tsinghua University ranked second in terms of overall score at ISC'13


Video: The ASC13 Preliminary Contest

Video: The ASC13 Expert interview

Video: The CCTV13 news broadcast

Video: The ASC13 Finals


The 2013 Asia Student Supercomputer Challenge (abbreviation: ASC13) held in Shanghai Jiaotong University officially ended recently. After five days of fierce rivalry, Tsinghua University in Mainland China won the championship and the single prize of “highest LINPACK” as well. Another Tsinghua University from Taiwan was runner up, and Huazhong Science and Technology University in Mainland China was awarded the prize of “Best MIC application optimization”.

The finalists are:【The list is sorted by in alphabetical order.】

The Chinese University of Hong Kong


Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST)

King Abdulaziz University


National Tsing Hua University


National University of Defense Technology


Shanghai Jiaotong University


University of ST. Petersburg


Sun Yat-Sen University


Tsing Hua University


Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology


In addition to the three previously referenced teams, there are 7 student teams from: University of St. Petersburg (Russia), Ulsan University of Science and Technology (South Korea), King Abdulaziz University (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia), The Chinese University of Hong Kong, National University of Defense Technology, Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Sun Yat-Sen University. The total 10 teams were selected through the preliminary contest from the 43 universities who had signed up for the competition.

We also congratulate the proud teams of ASC13, for your diligent efforts on the proposal. The proud teams are: Moscow State Bauman Technical University(BMSTU), Chongqing University (CQU), The Communication University of China (CUC), The Chinese University of Hong Kong(CUHK), Dalian University of Technology (DUT), Fudan University(FUDAN), Hong Kong Baptist University(HKBU), Hunan University(HNU), Huazhong University of Science and Technology(HUST), King Abdulaziz University (KAU), Nanjing University(NJU), Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU), National Tsing Hua University(NTHU), National University of Defense Technology(NUDT), Pukyong National University(PKNU), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University(POLYU), South China University of Technology (SCUT), Shanghai University(SHU), Shanghai Jiaotong University(SJTU), University of ST. Petersburg(SPbU), Sun Yat-Sen University(SYSU), Tsing Hua University(TH), Tianjin Polytechnical University (TJPU), Tongji University(TJU), Wuhan University (WHU), Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology(UNIST), The University of Science and Technology of China (USTC).The list is sorted in alphabetical order.


Nowadays, the globalization trends of science and technology are more profound. The trends indicate that this international competition has been shifted to the competition of knowledge and talent. As for the talent training, international "student cluster competition" has been held ~12 sessions in total, which is one of the most influential international events in the supercomputer field.

In order to promote training, study, and application of supercomputing, the first Asia Student Supercomputer Challenge (ASC) will be held in China in April, 2013. With the support from INSPUR, the host university is Shanghai Jiao Tong University. To participate in the challenge, each Asian university should send one team, which includes six students and one advisor. These students must be undergraduates. Please refer to the related events in SC and ISC.






Key date

Jan 25, 2013 registration due

Mar 7, 2013, proposal submission due (preliminary challenge)

Apr 14-19, 2013, final challenge




Preliminary Contest

The Finals Notice



Gromacs Workload

Visa Guildance

Finals Program

Contact Us

ASC13 Committee member

Dr. Qing (Kitty) Ji

Email: jiqing <at>

Tel: +86 10 82581092
Fax: +86 10 62972649

Follow us at



Copyright 2013 Inspur Group. All Rights Reserved